top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Journal Reflections

For many years I've been a regular journaller, as evidenced by my ever growing pile of journals, which I never look back on. Given all the changes in my life, I figured I would review my last month of entries and see what I have been writing about. And what I found was that, perhaps unsurprisingly, I was writing about COVID a lot. Since I never do anything with my journal entries, I figured this might be an opportunity to put them to some use. I can't promise they're all that well-written, but I figure maybe some of my experiences will resonate with you.


There are others experiencing all the same emotions and thoughts we are, and I think it's important to have frequent reminders that we are not alone in this Life in the Time of COVID. Even though others may seem like they have a handle on everything, they too may be struggling as they navigate through these new experiences.


So are some of my thoughts over the last month or so...


March 14, 2020 - The day after my last day attending work in person. The beginning of closures...which were definitely to last more than a few weeks.

March 15, 2020 - All my conversations with friends and family began centering around COVID. I remember asking a close friend (whom I have had a million conversations with, on a variety of topics), "What did we ever talk about before this?" And it was actually hard to think of other things!

March 23, 2020 - I had a lot of uncertainty about how to properly self-isolate, and what I was and was not allowed to do. I was starting to expect the tightening of guidelines.

March 23, 2020 - Fear about loved ones falling ill and/or dying.

April 3, 2020 - Recurring worries about what the future has in store.

April 5, 2020 - The realities of social distancing setting in. Starting to adapt day-to-day activities.

Those are just some of the thoughts going around my head. Each day my emotions and thoughts about this experience are so different. Looking back on my journal entries is a nice reminder that no emotional state is constant and my reactions and perspectives are ever changing. That's helpful to remember when I'm feeling overwhelmed. This too shall pass.


- Roo

 

Have you been writing at all lately? Have the focus of your thoughts changed at all in the past few months? Have you noticed your perspective about events shifting?

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page