top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Using my white privilege for Black Lives Matter

June 20, 2020


I'm typically someone who ignores the news, to avoid all the horrors in the world. And I do believe that can be a very useful coping mechanism at times. But I don't think that it's something I should be doing in the current situation. So, lately, I've been starting to open up to what is going on in the world more. However, I feel quite uncertain about how to navigate the current climate, as a white person who does not want to appear ignorant or cause unintentional offence. Yet, I am coming to realize that educating myself and speaking to others of all ethnicities and skin colours is more important than my own self-consciousness.


A family friend of mine sent this video that really resonated with me, which I wanted to share with you. She talks about the importance of continuing down this path of listening, being guided, educating herself, speaking out, and trying to make a difference, even if she "trips over her feet" and appears "awkward, misguided, and cliched" at times. I'd really appreciate it if you listen to her message - it's only 6 minutes long.

As a nurse who is working in a hospital during COVID, Sheila is currently being given pandemic pay. She has pledged to donate this pay to organizations that are fighting against racism. It can be challenging to find organizations to donate to to support this cause. Shelia has shared this list of Canadian organizations, which includes descriptions and links to their donation pages.


Some additional information/resources that I STRONGLY recommend checking out:

Here is a short video that a friend of mine shared, which I found to be helpful and accessible. It is the first in a series by Emmanuel Acho, Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man.

Many Canadians - and I'll admit I was in this boat too (and working to get off of it) - think that racism is primarily a problem in the States, not Canada. Sheila shared this one hour video about racism in Canada, just in case we assume it isn't a problem here.


Sheila also shared this lecture and book launch on "White Fragility" by Dr. Robin D'iAngelo. I found it very powerful, and immediately started reading the book. Although it's a longer video, it's definitely worth watching.


-Roo

 

Let me know if you want to share your thoughts, stories, messages, and actions related to the anti-racism movement, on this blog. I would really like to share them and learn more at the same time.

56 views2 comments
bottom of page