top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Masks. Just a part of everyday life, now.

May 7, 2020


In early February I returned from a trip abroad with a cold. At work, my supervisor informed me that I had to wear a mask, or I wouldn't be allowed to attend a meeting. I remember being extremely mortified and angry as I sat there for 2 hours with this mask on my face, which made it difficult to breathe and muffled my voice. I recall thinking that my supervisor was being so ridiculous and unfair....Yet, a month later, masks were becoming part of everyday life. Two months later, recommendations changed, and I was asking a friend to make cloth masks for my partner and me. And now, 3 months later, I am proud to wear a mask when I go shopping, because I feel like I'm doing a small part to slow the spread. How quickly things change...


- Roo

 

For those of us non-essential employees who are doing our best to mitigate the spread of this virus by staying home, we find ourselves with a new perspective on time, on circumstance, and in some cases, our lives. My journey during this period—as I’m sure has been the case for many—has had its ups and downs. I've found myself debating what matters. One thing that’s clear is the superficial has become just that. Unencumbered by arbitrary constraints, I’ve found solace in expressing myself through my art: filmmaking. Throughout my life, I’ve used this art-form to find catharsis and growth. It’s helped me heal and understand loss. It’s my source of discovery. My hope. My way of figuring life out. Everyday there seems to be a new adjustment to be made due to the coronavirus. I digest that change by making films about it. Further, I feel a level of freedom to share it with others and I hope it helps them as much as it helps me.


- Mary

 

Below are two of Mary Gerretsen's films that highlight the ways in which masks have become part of our new reality in the Time of COVID.


April 3 - Covid Communication

April 4 - Nothing Beats a Good Friend

Mary Gerretsen is an award-winning filmmaker with an eye for stories that try to find the subtle joys of life in even the most tragic and somber sides of humanity. She's a triple threat who directs, shoots and edits all forms of content with a focus in documentary.



If you missed the earlier post that showcased some of Mary's incredibly moving films, you can check them out here!

 

If you like what you see, follow Mary to see the new videos she’s posting. You can check out her various films and content on her website and on her social media platforms:

She is also working on a socially conscious docu-series that presents portraits of tragedy juxtaposed with joy and shows we aren't alone in our struggles: TRUE. TALK. DOCS.

31 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page