top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Mindful Christmas Tree Appreciation

December 21, 2020


Today I finished teaching a 6 week online mindfulness group to families in another province. The only reason I'm able to do this is that due to COVID, many in-person mental health services have been put on pause and clinicians and researchers are now exploring other methods for supporting families. Hence, I can teach a group to people in Alberta, while comfortably sitting in my home in Ontario. Although it's closed many doors, COVID has also allowed some other interesting ones to open.


In the group we encourage families to practice guided meditation as well as do mindful activities in their day-to-day life. So today while snuggled under a giant duvet, surrounded by Christmas decorations and lights, I figured I'd practice what I preach and explore my Christmas tree mindfully. This can easily be done while doing literally any activity by simply paying attention to the 5 senses.

SIGHT - I love looking at all the bright lights on my tree and strewn around the room. Purple, blue, orange, green, red blue, yellow. Noticing the shape of bulbs on the different strands of light. Admiring all our ornaments. Memories popping into my mind, recalling all the outings to get our adorable ornaments. Enjoyable thoughts, but time to re-direct my attention. Oh, but first another thought, "I'm glad the tree is still green. I guess we're watering it enough. Phew!"


SCENT - When I get up really close to the tree I still get a slight sent of Balsam Fir. "Yum!" Another thought, "The Christmas tree sent really fades over time. Interesting. I wish it stayed...ahh there's wanting"

TOUCH - Prickly needles. "Ouch!"

SOUND - Music and sounds from the TV in the other room, while my partner plays Rocket League. More thoughts, reflecting on the past and making comparisons, "I like these videogame sounds way better than the first person shooter games." Okay, try to focus!


TASTE - Delicious hot apple cider with cinnamon. "Mmmm....tastes like Christmas, I'm just missing the clementines." More memories popping into my head.





In this short exercise, I noticed so many thoughts - remembering, wanting, making comparisons. I was aware of them and tried to redirect attention back to my senses. It's also interesting to pay attention to the emotions that arise from such a brief (yet apparently quite emotionally laden) exercise - happy, calm, satisfied, excited. Such a rich experience and it's only a minute or two.


I'm going to continue to try and engage in mindful activities to better appreciate the little things this holiday season. I think this will be helpful to practice as the entire province is finding out that we'll all be in Lockdown for the start of 2021.


- Roo









11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page