top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Expressing Gratitude

Updated: Apr 18, 2020

April 14, 2020


Some may find this topic a bit hokey, but bear with me. When someone first suggested that I intentionally “focus on the positives” or write what I was grateful for in a “gratitude journal”, I was inclined to dismiss this. I viewed it as contrived and pointless. However, a few years ago when I was going through a slump I tried it anyway. Each day, I wrote 3 things I was grateful for. It wasn’t a cure-all, but it certainly showed me that not everything was negative and bad. Despite feeling low, there were a lot of positive things in my life, and I found that a helpful realization to hold on to. And I have been finding it helpful. I start my day reflecting on the

positives in my life, and despite the COVID pandemic, and despite self-isolation, I have identified many! Finding a good book, having a video chat with family, playing cards online with friends, the sun shining, going on my first bike ride this season, feeling successful at work, and generally having technology to be able to keep me connected and entertained.


Starting to intentionally reflect on things I am grateful for has encouraged me to reflect on my life as a whole. And one thing I have come to recognize is how truly privileged I am. Now, like never before (in my life), to get groceries we have to line up for ages outside the grocery store, or order food online 2-4 weeks ahead of time, if we can even find a time slot for delivery. And when we do get into the grocery store, they be out of our basics, like milk or eggs or toilet paper. Never before have I had to worry about a grocery store not having the goods I want. At worst, they just didn’t have my favourite brand of pesto.


I am becoming more aware of these luxuries I have long taken for granted. The sheer abundance of goods that have been available any time I want (because yes, there are some 24-hour grocery stores) is incredible! And even now, although we can’t always find the items we’re looking for, or have to wait longer for packages to come in the mail, I find it astounding how much access many of us continue to have to goods and services. Even in this time of self-isolation, you can consult with your family doctor over the phone, psychological therapy is being offered through video calls, you can do live yoga classes, and there are tons of online courses available. Despite the challenges that COVID has brought, I feel so privileged to have means and access to all of these things. Life in the Time of COVID is reminding me that there are many aspects of my life to be grateful for.


I tend to be a fairly optimistic and enthusiastic person, and I do not intend to sugar coat or make light of the current situation we are in. I recognize that there are many who are suffering – individuals whose mental health has taken a turn for the worse; people who are lonely and do not have strong social ties; having worries about oneself or loved ones getting sick; those who have to go into work each day because they work in an essential services; having to deal with customers who do not follow social distancing guidelines; those who lost their jobs due to business closures; healthcare workers facing risk of exposure and both physical and mental stress related to the current situation; people whose loved ones are sick and/or dying (whether related to COVID or not), whom they cannot go visit. All these topics (among others) are important, and I hope we discuss them on this blog. There will certainly be future posts that focus more on the disappointments, challenges, grief, and anxiety in the Time of COVID.


I’m sure people will experience a variety of different emotions throughout this time. Regardless of what is going on for each individual, I do think trying to instill hope and focusing on the positives is important.


- Roo

 

I am wondering if you are able to take a step back from whatever is going on in your life and identify anything you are grateful for? I'd love to hear from you in the comments section below!

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page