top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Light at the End of the Tunnel

December 16, 2020

On December 9th, 2020 the first COVID vaccine was approved in Canada. In Toronto, they started administering the first shots to frontline health workers and long term care residents on December 14th. There is a plan to continue to vaccinate Canadians throughout 2021 and the government is in the process of approving COVID vaccinations from other companies.

I had been feeling really bummed about not getting to have a "normal" Christmas this year, but the news about the vaccine is certainly helping me get through these challenging times. It feels like a light at the end of the tunnel. We will one day, in the now foreseeable future, be able to hug our loved ones, have friends over for dinner, shake hands when meeting people, and be mask free at the grocery store, among a variety of other activities. I'm very excited for so many things that I used to take for granted.

Ontario's restrictions have been increasing since mid October, yet the daily case counts have been steadily rising. Since clearly not enough people are following the guidelines, it feels like the vaccine is the only thing that will "flatten the curve". I was feeling dejected and wanting to ignore all the social distancing guides, but I'm finding that hope in the form of a vaccine has had quite a powerful impact on my mental state. This situation no longer feels like it will continue indefinitely. We are now moving toward a more desirable future. I am thrilled!

I look forward to 2021. I know it will take time, but there are people in Toronto who have already been vaccinated! The vaccine I have been dreaming of for the past 9 months actually exists! It is here. I hope news of the vaccine can give others the psychological boost that many of us so desperately need.


- Roo

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page