top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Lockdown 2.0

November 28, 2020


Just before Thanksgiving a month and a half ago, restrictions tightened. New daily cases were on the rise and businesses like gyms and movie theatres closed down, in Toronto. Despite the efforts to once again "slow the curve", numbers in Toronto, Ontario, and Canada have continued to climb. Last Monday, November 23, Toronto officially went into Lockdown...again. Non-essential businesses are closed, people have been laid off, curbside pick-up has become the norm.

As the weather cooled down, we got back into doing video calls, instead of getting together in parks. But that doesn't always suffice. It can be hard to feel satisfied with seeing friends on a screen. In-person contact can be so rejuvenating. So we're trying to get creative about socially distanced winter get togethers. We now have a backyard with a fire pit, and bonfires are quickly becoming the go to way to socialize. As soon as the weather is consistently cold enough for outdoor skating, there will be another activity where we can keep warm and safe on chilly days. My mum has snowshoes galore, so on snowy days, we plan to snowshoe around Toronto. Although the closures and restrictions are a tough pill to swallow, I find myself reminded of how adaptable we are...a thought which I'm desperately trying to hold on to.


Despite these creative new ways to spend time together, I find my mind turning toward the future...anxiously of course (really, what other way is there to think about the future?). What are we going to do about the holidays? Is Chanukah dinner going to be done over Zoom, like we did for Passover? Are we going to open our Christmas stockings while on a video call with the whole family? Although I know the logical and smart answer to these questions is, "Yes, Roo, numbers are still going to be insanely high. How can you possibly imagine that getting together with loved ones is going to be condoned and allowed?" But I find myself trying to ignore that very loud voice in my head. I want to push back and say "Too bad, I don't care, I have to be with my family for these major events!" But deep down I know this is a time when radical acceptance is essential to keeping everyone safe and healthy.

I think the only way I can tolerate, let alone accept this situation, is to continue to problem solve and brainstorm creative ways to spend time together and feel connected this winter. Anyone have any suggestions? I'd love to hear them!


- Roo


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page