top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Seeing things in new light

April 29, 2020


I've spoken to a couple friends who talk about how lately they are slowing down and trying to be in the moment more. They're paying attention to how they are feeling and what's happening around them, rather than just go, go, going all day long. If one is inclined and able to do this, it seems like you can view your everyday life in a different light.


Last week I posted some pictures from my parents' early morning walks. They've diligently continued their morning routine. It seems like they've been able to slow things down a bit, and have started viewing their neighbourhood from a different perspective. I'd like to share a bit more of their viewpoint with you.


Where are you?










Where is everyone?


















Thinking of you.












They take over the city.






















Really?












Out on the town.

I find I have a lot of difficulty slowing down. I think it comes more naturally to some, or at least they are more comfortable with it. I find I have to intentionally take a pause. So each day this week, I am trying to drink my morning coffee or eat my breakfast mindfully. By paying attention to how it looks, tastes, feel, smells, and sounds, I am able to be more focused on the present moment, for at least a few minutes of each day.


- Roo

 

For those of you who have a reduced workload, are out of work, or are staying at home more due to social distancing and self-isolation guidelines - are you able to slow down and see things in new light? For those of you who are essential workers - are you able to take pauses to ground yourself during your busy days?

21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page