top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

Starting a new job during COVID

This month I start 4 new positions (2 in Toronto, 1 in Ottawa, and 1 in Calgary). For all 4 jobs I'll primarily be working remotely. I may go into work at one of the Toronto places occasionally (i.e., max once per month), if deemed necessary. We have no idea how long working remotely will be the norm at my jobs in Toronto. At the other 2, that will never change - I was able to get hired in different cities, doing work in my area of expertise, due to COVID. My supervisor in Ottawa (and long term mentor) has said that even when in-person work becomes safe and acceptable again, she intends to continue to provide virtual services, so I can work there for as long as I want - COVID or not. In Calgary, I'm getting involved in research that will be conducted completely online. COVID has opened some cool doors for me - I now have the freedom to work in different cities, from the comfort of my own home, be involved in innovative research, and I once again get to work with a great mentor of mine.


In the past, before I started a new job, I'd spend time figuring out the perfect outfit I'd worry about whether it was actually "business casual" and if it met the dress code of my new workplace. I'd check and double check the time it'd take to commute to work, and leave really early, just to make sure I wouldn't be even a minute late. But now, on my first day, I can sleep in (not that I actually have that ability), throw on leggings, and turn on my computer a few minutes before my first zoom call. All those past worries, completely irrelevant.


Yet I had different concerns prior to starting. Is my internet strength good enough to have video calls with colleagues and clients, while my boyfriend is doing the same thing in the next room? Is the wall behind me professional enough for work? Does my background reveal anything about me that would be in appropriate for the workplace? I've recently rearranged my new "office" (i.e., our second bedroom), to make sure no one will be seeing my Varga Girl prints. I'm not sure everyone would appreciate those, even if I do. I've recently purchased a new desk, a second monitor, and, a filing cabinet. Now I have a space where I feel confident and comfortable having video calls, instead of sitting at the kitchen table, which I did for the last 6 months of my previous job, when I don't think I'd quite accepted just how long I'd be working remotely for.

Instead of being given a tour of the office and meeting my colleagues as we walk around, or attending a meeting where everyone introduces themselves, a mass email was sent out by my boss informing the team that I'm joining. I had to figure an appropriately professional and peppy "reply all" email (ugh!) to introduce myself to the team. Some people responded, welcoming me. Most did not...I probably wouldn't either if I were them. I know I may never meet some of them, as we work on different areas and are unlikely to seek each other out for a zoom meeting.

I'm well aware of the risk of social isolation when working from home. I had a training session a few weeks ago, and the colleague training me expressed how difficult it's been not having colleagues to consult with about our online protocols/methods for serving clients. I suggested we could have regular Zoom meetings to discuss and connect. She was very keen. As a very social person, myself, I think that I could easily start feeling this way. My goal is to find ways to feel connected to colleagues, whom I previously might have shared an office with, but now may only see once a week in a group Zoom meeting, where we're unlikely to have much small talk.


I'm grateful to be starting these new positions, with supervisors that I greatly admire, doing work I feel passionate about. I'm thankful that I don't have to go to work in person if I don't feel safe doing so. It's nice that I have shaved off 2 hours of commuting time each day, by working from home. There are definitely a lot of positives to my current situation. But again, as throughout the course of this pandemic, when occasions that I think should feel more momentous occur, they have a somewhat lackluster quality. The anticipation and excitement of starting a new job isn't quite there. But as per usual, I think it's important to find ways to celebrate. So as I write this, I think I'll need to bust out a bottle of bubbly at dinner this evening to mark the occasion.

- Roo


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page