top of page
  • Writer's pictureRoo

The Second Wave

On March 16, just days after COVID had been declared a pandemic, I began working remotely. That day, there were 32 reported cases in Ontario. Quickly, over the next few weeks, businesses shut down and anyone who was able to was instructed to work from home. Many of us were anxious and began obsessively following governmental recommendations. Yet, the first wave of coronavirus was already rising. Despite our vigilance, by April 25 we had 640 new daily cases. But thankfully the wave had crested, and numbers began dropping in Ontario. The restrictions were working.

Since early on, we've been warned about a second wave. It was inevitable, it seemed. Despite there being no vaccine for COVID in sight, after a few months of lock down, businesses began reopening. As we entered Phase 2 in June, I was concerned that numbers were going to immediately begin rising. But they didn't. They actually continued their downward trend until mid August. I was surprised and relieved...Maybe we'd somehow miraculously circumvent the 2nd wave.

Sadly, that does not seem to be the case. As restrictions have continued to loosen and people have become less anxious, less vigilant, and fed up with being separated from family and friends, numbers have begun to climb. The second wave has finally hit. In the past few weeks, Ontario's daily cases have tripled. At this rate it looks to me like our second wave is going to out do the first one...by a landslide.

When we were above 400 cases last time, we were in lock down. Yet right now, at the same number of cases, we are as open as we've been in 6 months. Many businesses are up and running in some modified capacity. Although they've recently cut down the size of some gatherings, we're still allowed to have gatherings of 50 people in restaurants, movie theatres, banquet halls and gyms. We are mandated to wear masks and maintain 2m distance, but people often break these rules. To me it seems like numbers are going to continue to rise until some drastic measures are taken.


And I think those measures have to be made at a governmental level. I think we need to be told what to do. At least I do. COVID fatigue is overpowering my inclination to impose stricter limitations on myself. Despite my thoughts about the second wave, I find I can't maintain anxiety and vigilance indefinitely. More and more I find myself in closer proximity to family and friends than I would have dared when this all started. I know I should be tightening up my behavior, not loosening it, as I'm inclined to do, but it's really hard for me right now. And it seems to be hard for everyone around me too.

Kids across Ontario have just gone back to school. So many are excited to be able to once again play with their friends and get out of their houses. Sadly, the parents I've talked to in the past week think it's only a matter of time before schools shut down again. I agree. I think it'll be devastating for many children whose lives are finally beginning to take on a semblance of normalcy. And no doubt, it'll be a challenge for many working parents who again will have to miraculously balance childcare and full time jobs. I feel so sad for kids and parents that the wave began right before they were allowed back at school. The second wave always seemed like an inevitability. But it really sucks. I feel dejected. I just want to go back to "normal", but what does that even mean anymore? Is it this it? I really hope not. It feels like we're in a holding pattern right now, just waiting for this to be over. But it's already felt like quite a long time to be on "hold".


- Roo

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page